Lazy Blogging on St. Thomas Sunday

thomasTwo years ago I wrote a post about Thomas that I still love with all my heart.  Is that a bad thing to say about your own post?  Regardless, it’s true.  Because I understand Thomas, I think, and I have experienced the same kindness and presence from Jesus that Thomas received.

So this post is just to say, please read that post on this St. Thomas Sunday.  Unless you read it two years ago, in which case I offer you this new content to honor your reading this far; a sonnet written by Malcolm Guite:

St. Thomas the Apostle

“We do not know… how can we know the way?”

Courageous master of the awkward question,

You spoke the words the others dared not say

And cut through their evasion and abstraction.

Oh doubting Thomas, father of my faith,

You put your finger on the nub of things

We cannot love some disembodied wraith,

But flesh and blood must be our king of kings.

Your teaching is to touch, embrace, anoint,

Feel after Him and find Him in the flesh.

Because He loved your awkward counter-point

The Word has heard and granted you your wish.

Oh place my hands with yours, help me divine

The wounded God whose wounds are healing mine.

Grace & peace today,
Sharon

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, church, Eastertide, poetry, religion, spirituality, St. Thomas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

