Movies by the Year: 2007-2005

I’m back with more, even though very few of you read yesterday’s post.  Oh, well.  It’s my pet project and I’m sticking to it.

2007’s Top 5

1. The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
2. King of Kong
3. Lars and the Real Girl
4. Confessions of a Superhero
5. The Host

What I got wrong, and other musings: I gave “Night at the Museum” the same shoddy rating as “Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium”. “Night at the Museum” is not a masterpiece, but it is nowhere near the dadaesque nightmare that is “Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium”. Also, in retrospect, “Juno” was a bit overrated.

What I hated: Not surprisingly, “Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium”, along with “Evan Almighty”, and “Spider-Man 3”.

Over the Hedge

2006’s Top 5

1. Children of Men
2. Once
3. Stranger Than Fiction
4. Over the Hedge
5. Who Killed the Electric Car?

What I got wrong (and other musings): In retrospect, I’d bump “Who Killed the Electric Car” and put “Friday Night Lights” in its place. By the way, I don’t think my husband has ever laughed louder in a theater than he did near the end of “Over the Hedge”.  It’s become family legend.

What I hated: “Scary Movie 4”. I was set up by the fact that “Scary Movie 3” actually made me laugh. “Scary Movie 4” did not.

2005’s Top 2 (!))

Here’s a weird thing: I only gave highest marks to 2 movies in 2005, and I think I was wrong about one of them.

1. Everything is Illuminated
2. King Kong

What I got wrong: “King Kong” impressed me as a spectacle, but I quickly forgot it and have no interest in ever seeing it again. However, there are some movies that have held up over time. My “new” 2005 list would include “Capote”, “Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room”, “Grizzly Man” and “Good Night and Good Luck”.

What I hated: Lots of things. “Monster-in-law”, “Constantine”, “Rated R: Republican in Hollywood” and “The Adventure of Sharkboy and Lavagirl”. Yep, it was a bad year.

Back to the 2007, here’s the trailer for a movie I bet most of you missed.   You should remedy that situation. I’m not kidding when I say that not only is it great scary sci-fi, but it’s a powerful family drama, to boot!

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in media, movies, videos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Movies by the Year: 2007-2005

  1. jubilare says:

    I’m reading, and I find it interesting. I haven’t much to comment, though, as I’ve only seen a few of the films you mention. I’m a little shocked by how few movies I have watched in the past few years.

    Like

  2. Holly says:

    Over The Hedge!!!!! Loved it. I also loved Juno. 🙂

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed Lars and the Real Girl …. great lists Sharon : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

