Much Ado About Whedon

image courtesy devrick.wordpress.com

Joss Whedon speaking at South by Southwest last month

I  miss blogging.  I remember those long, lazy days last year when I was posting several times a week.  Sigh.  I don’t think they’ll be coming back anytime soon.  Late winter and early spring were eaten up by the classes I’m taking online – in combination with the usual stuff of life at home and church.  I have the rest of April off of classes, but I’m trying to make headway on another project, something wonderful but overwhelming.

This year I’m speaking at the Imaginarium at Cornerstone.  That’s a dream come true, folks.  And I get to speak on an old favorite subject, the works of Joss Whedon.  It makes sense in light of the release of The Avengers, which he’s directing.  And Joss fits nicely with the overarching theme of Icons and Images that the Imaginarium is offering up this year.

I should have started preparing for this gig last summer, when I found out it was a strong possibility.  But I tend to live my life by triage, and until the seminar was a 100%, locked down certainty there were always more immediate tasks demanding  my attention.  It was only a couple of months back that I got the final word that I’m on the Imaginarium schedule.

So.  Two-and-a-half-months out from Cornerstone I’m reading and watching and writing as fast as a I can.  I rewatched  all of Firefly, and Dr. Horrible’s Singalong Blog, and I’m watching select episodes of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel.  I’m trying to decide whether to tackle Dollhouse again.  I didn’t enjoy it the first time and quit after the first season.  But I’ve heard from a number of sources that season two redeemed the series.  Maybe.

I love the Whedonverse, but I’m starting to feel a little drunk on it.  I will keep to myself how many times recently I’ve dialogue from “Firefly” in normal conversation; it’s a little embarrassing.  And I’ve started to spot all sorts of minutiae in the shows that I didn’t see before, including bloopers.  You know you’re in over your head as a fan when you consider blogging about the mistakes in a favorite show.  I also think that the woman in charge of special orders at the library is starting to hate me.  Every week I stop by with another list of books I want her to find. Does she ever wonder why I need all these books on the work of Joss Whedon?  You know what would be fun?  Next time I should ask the librarian if she can track down Joss’s home address and cell phone number.  That will leave her wondering.

Today I’m taking valuable time away from Whedon because I just really, really wanted to get a post up.  But then it’s back to work reading a couple of articles about the concept of evil in Joss’s work, and figuring out what clips to use in session one.  And yes, I’m still trying to cook and do laundry and make sure my children don’t go feral on me.  Mr. Right has been enormously helpful because he knows how much this means to me, and he enjoys this stuff himself.  He even loaned me his Fray trade paperback so that I won’t have gaps in my knowledge.  And of course, we’ll be going to see Cabin in the Woods and The Avengers.  And mustn’t forget about Much Ado About Nothing, whenever that’s released.

That’s where I’m at, and who knows when I’ll post again.  But I’ll leave you with this, should there be any other pitifully geeky fans out there.

The Nitpicker’s Guide to Angel, part 1:
Season 1, Episode 1, 38:40 – Hello, lighting guy in jeans and sneakers!
Season 1, Episode 2, 27:30 – Hello, camera people wearing wristwatches!

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in media, movies, videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Much Ado About Whedon

  1. And did you also see the movie “Serenity” which Whedon wrote and directed? It had some very funny dialogue in it. I have always thought that Whedon has a gift for putting in funny lines when you least expect them.

    Like

  2. Chris says:

    Mty husband and I are also huge Whedon fans. In fact right now I’m patiently waiting for him to finish playing Xbox so we can watch the Firefly 10th anniversary panel from ComiCon. http://youtu.be/V85olh2aZ34 If you like Whedon, you might like some books by Neil Gaiman. (Our other nerd obsession.) Neverwhere and American Gods were my two favorites.

    Like

    • I hope your husband has gotten of the xbox by now!
      My oldest son is a big Neil Gaiman fan – and he has very good taste, typically. 🙂 I’ve only read “Good Omens”, but I loved it. Thanks for the recommendations!

      Like

Leave a Reply

