Mary’s Meditation: Preparation

Each Sunday through  this Advent a dramatic monologue from Mary’s point of view is included in our church service.  I was assigned to write two of them, and the first of mine was presented this morning.  The theme was “preparation”, and here is what I came up with.

The Annunciation, by Henry Ossawa Tanner, c. 1898

I am changing every day with the life that grows inside of me. And it’s not just my belly that is changing – it’s my hands, my hair, my face! It’s as if my whole body is preparing to be a mother!

And I want to be prepared. I’m trying to get ready. I’m trying to stay strong and healthy; listening to the advice of my mother and the midwives. I want to be ready to be a mother when the day of my labor comes. But I wonder, can I be ready?

I’m not afraid to care for a baby. For years I’ve watched my mother take care of my younger brothers and sisters. I’ve even helped her. I know what a mother does.

But is that enough? For this child? I know, I know – every mother thinks their child is special. But I have more reason than most, don’t I? The angel appeared to me! This child is the Son of the Most High, the Glory of Israel! How can I prepare for him? What will he know of his purpose? What will he need from me? How can I be ready to mother the Messiah of God?

I am an ordinary woman. I still don’t understand why I was chosen for this task; it seems too much for me. I have nothing special to offer. To nurse, and bathe, and tend and carry – it seems so little to give to the One we’ve waited for, for all these years.

And yet it’s all I have.
Prepare me, God.

Take all that I am; all that I have offer you.

Prepare my hands, my body, my mind, my heart –

Prepare me as a servant for the One whom you are sending.

Father, may it be to me as you have said.

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Advent, art, Bible, spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

