Just looking for a place to kick it? Start a Shallow Small Group

I’m the director of the small group ministry at our church, a role I took on this past fall.  It’s been a steep learning curve for me.  I enjoy teaching, but our small groups are not classes.  They’re intended to become families within the larger family of our congregation, places where we can safely share our lives together.  I’m not always comfortable with my own emotions, much less other people’s, so intimacy (the goal of a good small group) makes me a little twitchy sometimes.

So this video makes me laugh.  I get it.

Hey, the word “super” is in “superficial”.  Who doesn’t want to be super?

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in church, videos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just looking for a place to kick it? Start a Shallow Small Group

  1. Carrie says:

    Can I come to your group!? I have a couple of kids that would fit right in, too 😉

    Like

    • My “real” group is not nearly this shallow. Sorry! We eat and talk about whatever for the first hour, and the kids play the wii, but then its scripture, and prayer. And I try desperately – sometimes unsuccessfully – not to drop back into teacher mode. I’m being stretched. 🙂 But you and your kids are welcome anytime!

      Like

  2. !!! Stealing this and posting it to FB.

    K

    Like

  3. Sharon, YOU are a hoot. I love this stuff… Ya made my day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

