Word from Your Mother

image courtesy elsaelsa.com

Baph and I, many Mother's Days ago, when I was hot and he was dorky.

We are a low maintenance family when it comes to celebrating.  Here is an exchange I heard between Cheesy and a friend recently:

Friend:  So what did you get from the Easter Bunny?
Cheesy:  I got two little chocolate chickens and a chocolate bunny and –
Friend:  No, I mean what did you get from the Easter Bunny?
Cheesy:  I got some robins eggs and some Starbursts, too.
Friend:  That’s it?  (long pause)  Oh well, maybe the Easter Bunny got sick before coming to your house and had to send a replacement and the replacement forgot your house.

I guess the rules have changed and a basket full of candy no longer suffices at Easter, but like I said, we are pretty low maintenance.  Birthdays rarely bring big parties, cakes are almost always homemade (crudely, I might add), and the amount we spend on gifts…well, my children’s friends tend to pity them after birthdays and Christmas as well as after Easter.

This means that when Mother’s Day comes I don’t anticipate expensive gifts and grand gestures.  Nobody is going to Jared’s; nobody is sending me on a cruise.  And while I am completely okay with that, it surprises me every year how much I do, actually, care about Mother’s Day.  In fact, I’ve been known to turn into kind of a jerk on Mother’s Day: expecting to be served, demanding that my children quit bickerinng for the day as a gift to me, etc.  I don’t want to do that today.  I’ve already gotten breakfast (made by Cheesy), three homemade cards, and a Starbucks latte.  I’m getting dinner out, too.  That’s more than enough.  I’ll think I’ll just count my blessings today.

image courtesy vintageclothiers.blogspot.com

Hey, kids! How creepy is this?!?

So kids, I know I’m not the world’s best mom (despite what that mug I got one year might have said).  I’m only a passable cook and a terrible housekeeper.  I’m the sort of mother who loses permission slips, misses appointments, and drops you off at birthday parties on the wrong day.  I’m moody, and snarky, and I’m often caught up in my own pursuits.  But I want you to know that I adore you.  I’m still flabbergasted that this pack of beautiful kids is my pack of beautiful kids.  And you’ve got more than looks going for you, although that’s certainly helped over the years.  Baph’s sense of humor and musical talent; Striker’s athletic ability and outgoing personality; B.Lake’s mellow temperment and quickness to forgive; Cheesy’s wonderful laugh and tender heart; Bee’s sweet, helpful nature and mad math skillz – why, between the five of you, you’ve got it all!

I want you to know that while none of us are perfect, I’m deeply grateful that God brought us all together in this family – this messy, disputatious, challenging, wonderful family.  Whatever else I accomplish in the second half of my life, nothing will surpass the significance or privilege of being your Mother.

So if you could chill out on the fighting today, yes, that would be cool.  And if you could maybe vacuum the guinea pig poop out of the closet, sure I’d like that, too.  But whatever happens today or any other day, I’m a lucky, lucky woman & I love you all to pieces.

So Happy Mother’s Day to me.  And thank you, my wild bunch.  May our tribe increase (I’m now looking forward to grandchildren).

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, holidays, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Word from Your Mother

  1. HP says:

    THIS

    “I’m only a passable cook and a terrible housekeeper. I’m the sort of mother who loses permission slips, misses appointments, and drops you off at birthday parties on the wrong day. I’m moody, and snarky, and I’m often caught up in my own pursuits. But I want you to know that I adore you. I’m still flabbergasted that this pack of beautiful kids is my pack of beautiful kids. ”

    totally describes me. Glad to hear that I’m not the only one. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

