Other Things to Read, If You’re Reading My Blog

cat photo courtesy urlesque.com

This has nothing to do with my post. I just think we should all take a few moments to reflect on this photo.

My blog stats have fallen off the cliff over the last few days.  I’m sorry to say that one pays attention to such things, when one blogs.  At times like these I have to do my usual gut-check:  why do I blog?  Is it because I’m trying to build a readership?  Or because I just need to write?  I do love to write, and I think having practiced it so much lately will probably be helpful when I start writing for school.  But there’s no getting around the fact that I feel disappointed when I write something I  feel good about, and discover that only nine people even looked at it.  Ouch.

So.  I’m going to be extra lazy about my blogging for the next several days.  If I feel inspired, I’ll write.  But otherwise, I’m going on autopilot.  I’ll devote the saved time to cleaning my house and catching up on my reading.  I could stop blogging completely, for this time, but I want to keep going with my postaday commitment.

Today, I’ll post links to things that I’ve found found interesting recently.  I encourage the nine of you to check them out.

1.  How Ayn Rand Ruined My Childhood, from Salon.  I have personal issues with Ayn Rand, having heard her ugly philosophy from a dear friend who “converted” to Objectivism.  It was like losing someone to a cult, a comparison with which the author of this article would probably agree.

2.  There is Always a Day Before, by Michael Spencer, the Internet Monk.  The Site reposted this essay, written by Michael Spencer shortly before he was diagnosed with the cancer that would swiftly take his life.  It was amazing then, and now.

3.  Because I haven’t talked about hell enough….here’s the wonderful post my friend Pamela the Priest wrote for Civil Religion:  Hell and the Persistence of Hope.  The next time someone asks me what I think about hell, I’ll just hand them a copy of this post.  Note:  Pamela doesn’t actually ask to be called Pamela the Priest, but I like the alliteration.

4.  Finally, someone addresses the critical issue of what order the Chronicles of Narnia should be read in!  Poor kids, who’ve been misled into thinking that you should read The Magician’s Nephew first!  Wrong.  And it matters.  Hear why, in What Would Lewis Do at Christianity Today online.

5.  Finally, as a bonus when you’re done with your reading, here’s a montage of “deaths” from classic video games.  A bit violent in spots, but compelling for a certain segment of the population.  Yes, I may be talking about you, Mr. Right.  And, it features a pretty awesome version of “Mad World”!

 

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Bible, blogging, books, literature, religion, spirituality, videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Other Things to Read, If You’re Reading My Blog

  1. Thanks. I copied and saved your list. I also read the Ayn Rand article. It was really sad for me and then I read some of the comments. I’m still going to read the rest and want to thank you for the posts. I’m going to give you my highest compliement, “Today, I learned something from YOU.” Keep Blogging, Keep Writing. Thanks

    Like

  2. I check the postaday2011 tags page pretty much daily since I’ve climbed on board with this project. I’m like you, it’s kind of a bummer when the only hits I get are from link-spammers. But yeah, I write for me mostly anyhow and it’s nice when once in while a real person checks in.

    Like

  3. Angela Dixon says:

    Hey Sharon — I read your blog everyday and am enjoying it very much! Please don’t stop. I get it emailed to me, so I don’t know if that adds a view to your page or not. Just wanted you to know though 😉 Have a great weekend. Angela

    Like

  4. HP says:

    I don’t read your blog daily, but I do read all of them and share the ones I like. 🙂 I tend to read your blog entries like 4-6 in one day. If you have a day with only 9 readers, you should just assume that it’s a day that Holly wasn’t here. If you have like 90, that means I was here and I shared a couple. LOL. You know, it’s all about me!

    Like

  5. Mr. Right says:

    thanks baby

    Like

  6. Hollie says:

    I read when I remember….

    I am sad there were no Zelda deaths….alas….sigh….but I do remember playing Gauntlet. Loved that game…even though it always locked up on me. Crazy NES…hehehehehe…might need to go find it for the emulator on my phone ;o)

    BTW…today is not a thinking day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

