George Herbert Will Do Quite Nicely

On a day when life is confusing and disheartening and I feel like griping my heart out to God….it’s nice to know that I can gripe my heart out to God.  Real love means telling the truth, even when it’s not pretty.  Thanks to my blessed saint George Herbert who could say it in verse and remind me that it’s okay.

“Bitter-Sweet”

Ah, my dear angry Lord,

Since thou dost love, yet strike;

Cast down, yet help afford;

Sure I will do the like.

I will complain, yet praise;

I will bewail, approve;

And all my sour-sweet days

I will lament and love.

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in literature, poetry, spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

