A Perfectly Good Idea Ruined By Reality

I was nearly done with a post about the United Methodist Church’s call for an alcohol free lent, just putting in links, when I found that my post was wrong in a really important way.  Until recently the UMC was abstinence-only, on the subject of alcohol – as is my denomination.  My entire post was premised on the irony – and yet, openness and integrity – of a teetotaling church calling its people to give up alcohol for 40 days.

Well, it’s not a teetotaling denomination anymore.  It’s most recent statement of “Social Principles” (2008) opens the door for those “who choose to consume alcoholic beverages,” encouraging  “judicious use with deliberate and intentional restraint, with Scripture as a guide.”

With that change in policy, the whole point of my post went out the window.  No biggie, except that I’m far too tired to come up with another idea today.  The research side of blogging – when I search for the most reliable sources, try to follow trails to original quotes, etc. – can be really tedious.  But it’s worth it when I find a mistake like this one and realize that I almost misrepresented the position of an entire denomination.  Unfair to them, and makes me look lazy.  So I try not to be lazy with the tedious work of being accurate.  But today, what that means is that I have nothing to write about.  Nothing except how hard it is to write some days.

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

