March 1: Resolution Update

March calendar page courtesy google.comIt’s March 1st, which means my birthday is two days away.  Ahem.  Just thought you should know.  I find that subtlety is overrated.

My resolution to write about my resolutions at the beginning of every month is already starting to seem like a really boring idea.  I mean, how many times are you going to want to read about whether or not I’m hugging my children?  But I’m no quitter, even when I’ve committed myself to a bad idea.  So here we go.

1.  I Will Age Gratefully – I caught my reflection in my laptop today and thought, “Hello, old hag.”  I’m just trying to retain the discipline of gratitude and I’m trying to appreciate myself for who I am, wrinkles and all.  I’ve also taken up yoga again after a two year break, and it feels terrific.  It’s also a fun activity to share with Cheesy and Bee.

2.  I Will Be a Hugger – yep, I’m still hugging, although today has been a low-hug day.  Baph, Striker and B. Lake all left the house without hugs just because it was a crazy, busy morning.  I’ll have to double up tomorrow.

3.  I Will Further My Education – When I reported on February 1, I’d only finished one book out of the five necessary for my doctrine and theology certificate.  I’m happy to report that I’ve since finished three more, including the tests.  I certainly hope to finish the last book and earn my certificate before April 1.  As reported elsewhere, I’ve also found a course of study program through Northwest Nazarene University that I hope to start in May.

4.  I’m Going on a Media Diet – Sigh.  This is so hard.  I’m still doing a decent job of staying away from trashy t.v.  But the lure of the interwebs is amazingly strong.  I start reading blogs, follow the links to other blogs, and suddenly find that I’ve burned up two hours of my life that should have been spent on something else.  And that’s pretty much the story every day.  Am I hopeless?

5.  Death to the Crabby Mom – I am being refined by fire.  So many things have seemed outside my control lately.  I’m starting to think God is trying to tell me something.  Like, perhaps, “Stop being a control freak?”  Killing the crabby mom is not just about giving thanks for the good stuff, but accepting some of the unpleasant stuff.  Oh, dear, I feel that I am perilously close to quoting the Serenity Prayer.  If I ever say “Let go and let God,” someone needs to slap me.

6.  I Will Post Every Day – Did anyone notice that I missed a day?  I didn’t post on February 10.  I actually had a post written, but fell asleep before publishing it.  I was mighty upset about it the next morning, I can tell you.  I felt like I’d blown my whole year.  I can never again claim that I’m a successful Postaday2011 blogger.  I mean, if I missed one day, why not just start skipping them willy-nilly?  WHAT’S THE POINT IN ANYTHING?!?!  That’s how I felt on February 11th, anyway.  I’m kind of over it now.  But I’m still going to do my level best to post every day.  Like I said, I’m not a quitter.

March promises to be a challenging month.  I’m our church’s coordinator for Ashes to Fire, a program that runs from Ash Wednesday to Pentecost.  It’s the most responsibility I’ve had since coming on staff, and the organization required is daunting.  Civil Religion is also going to relaunch this weekend and I’m hoping to post there at least once a week.  I’ve been trying to accumulate a few good ideas for posts – perhaps the flap over whether Rob Bell’s new book will reveal him to be a Universalist, or something on John MacArthur’s appalling interview with the Christian Post about the protests in the Middle East.  If you know of a good topic, let me know.

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in aging, blogging, education, parenting, spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

