Come Thou Fount

Nobody does a hymn like Sufjan Stevens.

Tonight I sat in my office and wrote out my spiritual story.  The first step in our version of the discernment process is to be granted a local minister’s license by the church board, and tonight was my night to address the board and request a license.  Knowing that I’d be asked to share over 40 years of life on pilgrimage and to articulate my somewhat meandering  sense of calling (preferably in less than five minutes) was a bit daunting, even among friends.  It was a moment that called for inspiration, and here’s where I found mine.

If there is a one line summary of my life with God, it’s captured in this one phrase from “Come Thou Fount”:  “O to grace how great a debtor”.  To mentally review the course my life has taken is to be reminded again and again of the grace that has been lavished on me. Why?  Why did Jesus seek me “when a stranger/wandering from the fold of God?”  Why was He willing to “rescue me from danger” when I was the one who got myself there in the first place?  I don’t get it.  I don’t understand the grace that sought me years ago and I don’t understand the grace that is calling me in a new direction now.  But, dear God, I’m grateful for it.  So I sat in my office and typed, and sang along with Sufjan.  Because “streams of mercy never ceasing/call for songs of loudest praise.”

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Christian Ministry, Christianity, music, religion, spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Come Thou Fount

  1. holynickel says:

    Prone to wander Lord I feel it prone to leave the God I love….take my heart Lord take and seal it seal it for thy courts above……
    One of my, favorite hymns. Oh how his grace abounds…it truly is amazing.

    Like

  2. Terry Masters says:

    Amazing that God has used this so clearly in my life, too…could it be genes???
    Love you and pray that God will tune our hearts to sing His grace in this day!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

