Civil Religion Returns from the Dead

zombie hand courtesy soundlounge.co.ukOnly a month has passed since I posted about the demise of Civil Religion, the St. Louis Post Dispatch’s religion blog.  I’d been writing for C.R. for a year and a half by that point.  It was through that venue that I first got hooked on blogging, but I’d also started to struggle with writing specifically on the subject of religion and spirituality.  I thought that well had run dry for me, so it’s a bit odd that here, at Strange Figures, I’ve added 19 posts to the spirituality category since the beginning of the year.  Hmmm….

Well, Civil Religion is back and I’ve been invited to rejoin the team.  This is an honor:  somehow the the religion editor still believes in me despite my very low output at the end.  The site is being completely redesigned so I was at the paper today for a training session and a new photo.  I hope I’m not crazy to take this on.  Blogging here, blogging there, working at the church, homeschooling the girls, trying to finish the CLT course of study – it may not come as a surprise to you that I’m behind on the laundry again.  And the dishes.  And every kind of cleaning you can imagine.  Is it self-indulgent to fill your life with things you love when you’re not getting paid to do them?  I ask myself this question often and I haven’t come up with a good answer yet.

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in blogging, spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

