Need a Good Mechanic?

I hid behind the mayor, but you can see Baph in the back row in the glasses. Cheesy and Tess are in the front row, puzzled, I think, by the giant scissors

I know one.  Baph, Cheesy, Bee and I had the pleasure of attending the ribbon cutting for our friend Russ’s shop today.  I’ve never gotten to see the giant scissors up close before:  they look like big plastic safety scissors, the blunt tipped kind you use in kindergarten.  But they do the job.

On the way to the ribbon cutting I saw a bumper sticker on a car ahead of me in traffic.  The bumper sticker said “love people.  cook them tasty food.”  Very nice suggestion.  Somehow, though, when I looked at the bumper sticker I inserted an extra period and saw this:  “love people.  cook them.  tasty food.”  Now that would be an awesome bumper sticker.  I love it when my brain malfunctions and provides me with free entertainment like that.

Russ is a good natured father of four who is an irrepressible “car guy”.  If you live in the Collinsville area and need a mechanic, you should call Vern’s Professional Car Car.  But ask for Russ, not Vern.  There is a Vern, but she’s not a mechanic.  And her name isn’t Vern.

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Need a Good Mechanic?

  1. Syl says:

    yk, I had to re-read that sentence three times before I quit inserting an extra period too. Then when I finally got on to the next one I realized that was your whole point! great minds misread alike (or something).

    Like

    • How funny! Maybe who ever designed that bumper sticker needs to rethink it. I’m tempted to make some joke about you being predisposed to the misread by the little zombies in your famil;, but then, zombies never cook the people, do they?

      Like

  2. Know a good one in Los Angeles?

    -MTO

    Like

Leave a Reply

