Answers to the Thoroughly Random Movie Quotes Quiz

"Tommy Boy" movie still courtesy zuguide.com

"Fat guy in a little coat" - yet another classic from the "Tommy Boy" quote mine

I’m tired tonight, but it’s a good kind of tired.  I’ve just come from a children’s ministries meeting at one coffee shop immediately followed by meeting a friend at another coffee shop.  I  think I need a coffee nightcap now and I’ll have had the perfect night.

I didn’t get many public guesses on my quotes quiz, but as promised, I will now provide the movie titles.  As for the one good sport who was willing to guess, you complete me.  Stay frosty.

Top 20 Quotes I Manage to Use in Conversation

1) What is your major malfunction? – “Full Metal Jacket”

2)  You keep using that word.  I do not think it means what you think it means. – “The Princess Bride” (one of several movies on this list that are absolute quote mines)

3)  It’s such a fine line between clever and stupid. – “This is Spinal Tap” (quote mine!)

4)  Think, McFly! – “Back to the Future”

5)  Yeah, that’d be great. – “Office Space”

6) The suspense is terrible.  I hope it lasts. – “Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory” (quote mine!)

7)   I’ll be with you in a moment, Mr. Peabody. – “Bringing Up Baby”

8 )  Lighten up, Francis. – “Stripes”

9) It’s a joke, son.  Don’t let ’em slip by you like that. – “It’s a Joke, Son!”

10) That’ll do, pig. -“Babe”

11)  George, why must you torture the children? – “It’s a Wonderful Life”

12)  It’s my only weakness. – “The Bride of Frankenstein”

13)  Fra-gi-le -“A Christmas Story”

14)  That’s a pie crust promise.  Easily made, easily broken. – “Mary Poppins”

15)  Let’s not bicker about who killed who. – “Monty Python and the Search for the Holy Grail” (quote mine!)

16)  I close the iron door on you! – “Twentieth Century”

17)  And two hard boiled eggs – “A Night at the Opera”

18)  That’s one of the tragedies of this life – that the men who are most in need of a beating up are always enormous. – “The Palm Beach Story”

19)  That wasn’t love.  That was just flapdoodle. – The Night of the Hunter

20)  Conscience…that stuff can drive you nuts! – On the Waterfront

A Night at the Opera movie still courtesy threedonia.com

"And two hard boiled eggs"

And a bonus list of quotes that are harder to use in every day life, but which I love.

1)  Sometimes spaghetti just likes to be alone. – “Big Night”

2)  Not to spill blood.  That is the law.  Are we not men? -“Island of Lost Souls”

3)  We thought you was a toad. – “O Brother, Where Art Thou?”

4)  This is the West, sir.  When the legend becomes fact, print the legend. – “The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance”

5)  Son, you got a panty on your head. – “Raising Arizona” (quote mine!)

6)  I don’t want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don’t want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed. You know, as a career, I don’t want to do that. – “Say Anything”

7)  We’re coming to get you, Barbara! – “Night of the Living Dead” AND “Shaun of the Dead”

8 ) An’ I cayn’t stan’im! – “Singin’ in the Rain”

9)  Brothers don’t shake hands.  Brothers gotta hug! – “Tommy Boy” (quote mine!)

10)  Nobody makes me bleed my own blood!  Nobody! – “Dodgeball” (quote mine)

I’d love to hear any of your favorite movie quotes, as well.

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in movies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Answers to the Thoroughly Random Movie Quotes Quiz

  1. HP says:

    “Son, you got a panty on your head.” – Raising Arizona. We use this one pretty often around here.

    Another fave from the same movie, “We’re using code names.”

    If I want my husband to look at me funny and/ or shake his head I say, “Love isn’t love without a violin-playing goat.” ~Notting Hill

    Probably my favorites, or at least in my top 5, “I’m right on top of that, Rose.”-Don’t Tell Mom, The Babysitter’s Dead, and one that I find useful in many situations, “They’re called boobs, Ed.” -Erin Brokovich.

    Like

    • “Notting Hill” features one of my most best/worst quotes – the “I’m just a girl, standing in front of a boy, trying to tell him that she loves him”. Or some crap like that. It’s a stupid line and the delivery is just awful. Makes my teeth hurt. But I like the line about the goat.

      Like

Leave a Reply

