What Makes Today a Good Day?

happy face balloon image courtesy flickr.comFor starters I’m still aglow from our victory at Trivia Night last night.  We got the 3-peat, but it looked iffy for the first few rounds.  Even better than winning (though I have to say that I like winning) was spending time with friends.  This year our team consisted of Mr. Right and myself, Baph and a friend who is a fellow homeschool graduate, and a couple that we’ve gotten to know through homeschooling.  The wife has a great laugh and it was fun to be with them.  I like people who can laugh out loud.  I spent most of my life tittering behind my hand, and I’ve actually worked on cutting loose and letting myself belly laugh.  Seems healthier, somehow.  Certainly feels more real.

Bad news:  our dryer has quit working.  Good news:  I get to go dry everything at the laundromat this afternoon.  I wouldn’t want to use the laundromat all of the time, but there’s something to be said for being able to dry 8 loads of laundry in less than an hour.  I kind of like it.

This morning I dressed up more than usual for church.  I have a new outfit picked up from Goodwill:  a pretty purple cardigan and a skirt which I believe can be described as “kicky”.  I’m not really dressy, normally, but there’s something to be said for the feeling that comes from looking really girly once in a while.

Also making it a good day is the support that Striker gives me when I’m singing in church.  She often works up in the sound booth, running the projection system.  Every time I glance up at her from the platform she gives me an enormous smile and a thumbs up.  What a sweetheart.

Finally, the service itself was great.  We were kickin’ it old school with some of the songs today, and I usually don’t enjoy that.  But God is not limited by my preferences, and I found the time in worship very moving.  So many things are up in the air right now, but more and more I think that if I can keep my focus on God, I can deal with the “stuff” that threatens to throw me off balance.

Posted a quote to Facebook that I ran across this morning.  I read it and think, “Aint it the truth,” but I’m not hopeless.  None of us are.

We would rather be ruined than changed,
We would rather die in our dread
Than climb the cross of the moment
And let our illusions die – W. H. Auden

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

