I Don’t Know Why You Say Goodbye, I Say Hello

Hey, you found me!  Meet the new blog.  Not quite the same as the old blog, but mighty close.

Had a lovely afternoon with friends we rarely see.  Like us, they are Cornerstone regulars and they don’t actually live that far away.  But they are busy, we’re busy, and months pass without time together.  So an unhurried pizza lunch and some play time back at our house made it a great day.  And speaking of friends, those are the kind of friends who keep me an unapologetic Facebook user.  Because of Facebook I feel connected between the face to face meetups.  I can read his movie reviews and absurdist status updates.  I can see what creative or delicious project she’s up to now.  And I can see lot of photos of those beautiful babies.  So while I think that this guy has some good points, I’m not leaving Facebook.

Three things I’m thinking about tonight:

1) This post from the Internet Monk with a suggested program for the church.  There are plenty of writers out there criticizing the modern church, and waaaayyyy too many claiming they’ve found the secret buried treasure that will miraculously cure all that ails us.  I appreciate Chaplain Mike’s very specific, practical “program”, and yet it seems like the antithesis of what we usually mean by programs in the church.

2) This book by Helen Lee.  I sincerely hope it’s as good as the reviews are saying that it is.  I love being a mostly-at-home, homeschooling mother, but I’ve never been able to confine myself to the domestic sphere of influence – as many patriarchists would say I should.  Thank God I’m not a patriarchist, and that’s all I have to say about that.

3) And this great quote that my dad sent me this morning:

We grow out of self as we grow into Christ.  Changes in any other direction are only changes from one form of trouble to another kind of trouble.  Technicians can change iron into steel capable of receiving as high a polish as silver.  But no one can turn iron into silver.  Human nature may undergo honed refinement, but only as it partakes of the divine nature can it undergo transformation truly holy. – B.T. Roberts

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in books, media, spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Don’t Know Why You Say Goodbye, I Say Hello

  1. Love the move! It seems this new name is quite getting you happier. I hope you’re feeling better. I think I’m getting there myself.

    -MTO

    Like

Leave a Reply

