5 of My Favorite (Recent) Things

SoundofMusicMyFavoriteThingsBestOne of my favorite blog friends issued me a challenge after reading my last post:  “…tell/show me five things you stumbled across that left some sort of good taste in your mouth. I find we often need to talk about those things, too.”

Good point.  So I’ve racked my brain for five things that have left a good taste over the  last couple of weeks – things I’ve seen/read/listened to that made me happy or encouraged me.  I don’t know if they’ll provoke discussion, but maybe they’ll cheer you up, at least.  (These are all things I’ve shared on Facebook, by the way.  I’m not always negative.)

1.  This great blog post on the meaning of faith, by Phil Vischer.  Yeah, that’s the Phil Vischer who gave us these guys:

Veggies2.  This wonderful post about love and fear in Disney’s Frozen

frozen2

3.  This NPR story on one of my favorite singer/songwriters, Josh Garrels

josh garrels

4.  The announcement that this outstanding woman is the new president of our denominational seminary

CarlaSunbergNTSPres

5.  And this picture of my dog, taken by Cheesy

gilly2

About Sharon Autenrieth

Wife, mom to 5, homeschooler, Christian Education Director, idealist, malcontent, follower of Jesus.
This entry was posted in Christianity, media, movies, music, religion, spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 5 of My Favorite (Recent) Things

  1. Pingback: Five things | jubilare

  2. jubilare says:

    That is a seriously adorable dog…
    Thank you for this! I was in need of some positive stimulation, and the article on Frozen spoke directly to an internal conflict I’ve been wrestling with. (Phil Vischer’s post was also good brain-stimulation for the morning :)

    I’m not a parent, and my nephew is too young for any of my fears to affect him in that way, but I have gone back and forth as to whether or not my gift for writing is something God is wanting me to pursue more faithfully, or whether my thinking that is my own pride and desire taking over. I really think that I am meant to write stories, but those doubts that come… aia. My heart and especially my will are such bloody frail things. If I didn’t believe so strongly in the love of God, I would find it hard to believe that He hasn’t thrown up His hands in frustration and left me to my own petty wanderings. Thank God for God’s patience!

    I guess my best way of thanking you for this is responding in-kind. So here you go! http://jubilare.wordpress.com/2014/01/08/five-things/

    • Thank you for your response. :) I’m especially looking forward to watching the Wolverine musical and reading the article about Orson Scott Card. I loved “Ender’s Game” (book, I still haven’t seen the movie).

  3. Sarah C says:

    I also thank you for adding the five favorite things post.
    1. I love Phil Vischer’s podcast, it looks like I’ll have to start reading his blog. Really enjoyed this.
    2. This is the second time in the last two weeks that I’ve come across the suggestion that the opposite of love is not hate but fear (the first was an advent sermon from Qwest church in Seattle). It’s something I’ve been mulling over. Not sure if I agree yet, but it does take you to some interesting places when you think about it.
    5. Pets are a huge blessing and that is a really cute dog.

    • Well, we know that perfect love casts out fear, so there seems to be something oppositional between them. And I know that the theme of trying to suppress and control feelings out of fear was a theme in Frozen that really resonated with me. That feels like a major piece of the work that’s being done in my right now – letting go of fear in favor of openness.
      I thought the same thing about Vischer’s blog – I need to be reading it, too. And, yes, I love my sweet dog!

Leave a Reply

